Contestants for the XII International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition have been selected


Out of a record number of 240 applicants, 49 young violinists from 16 countries were selected to participate in the competition held in Helsinki, Finland in late May.

The preliminary jury of the XII International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition has selected 49 young violinists to compete May 18–29, 2022 in Helsinki. The competition, which was originally scheduled for late 2020 and postponed due to the pandemic, received a record number of applications from all over the world, 240 in total.

The Competition Committee is delighted that the competition has sparked significant interest around the world, and that in spite of these uncertain times the competition received a record number of applications. “We are looking forward to an exciting competition of the highest quality, and of course to many wonderful musical experiences,” notes the Chair of the Competition Committee, Mr. Lauri Ratia.  

Contestants in the XII International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition:

Diana Adamyan (AM)
Otto Antikainen (FI)
Rio Arai (JP)
Lara Boschkor (DE)
Zach Brandon (US)
Jevgēnijs Čepoveckis (LV)
Karisa Chiu (US)
Jung Min Choi (KR)
SongHa Choi (KR)
Hawijch Elders (NL)
Mira Marie Foron (DE/IT)
Kaori Furusawa (JP)
Molin Han (CN)
Risa Hokamura (JP)
Adrián Ibáñez-Resjan (ES/FI)
Anna Im (KR)
Ravil Islyamov (RU)
Amia Janicki (CH/AT)
Sarah Jégou-Sageman (FR)
Eun Che Kim (KR)
Gyehee Kim (KR)
Jaewon Kim (KR)
Jeewon Kim (KR)
Stephen Kim (US)
Daniel Kogan (CA)
Issei Kurihara (JP)
Miyeon Lee (KR)
Yesong Sophie Lee (US)
Chaowen Luo (CN)
Nathan Meltzer (US)
Fumika Mohri (JP)
Georgii Moroz (UA)
Maine Nishiyama (JP)
Audrey Park (US)
Sueye Park (KR)
Aoi Saito (JP)
Felicitas Schiffner (DE)
Vikram Francesco Sedona (IT)
Yoomin Seo (KR)
Karen Su (US)
Natsumi Tsuboi (JP)
Dmytro Udovychenko (UA)
Kasmir Uusitupa (FI)
Jaewon Wee (KR)
Qingzhu Weng (CN)
Inmo Yang (KR)
Oukalin Yin (CN)
Minami Yoshida (JP)
Galiya Zharova (RU)

The Competition Committee strongly condemns the war and violence launched by the Russian Federation against Ukraine. However, Russian violinists were not excluded from the preliminary selection process, following the policy of the World Federation of International Music Competitions (WFIMC) that no competitor should be excluded from the competition solely on the basis of his or her nationality. The Sibelius Violin Competition is a member of the WFIMC.

The 12th International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition will be held May 18–29, 2022 in Helsinki, Finland. The competition is organized jointly by the Sibelius Society and Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki. The Competition Committee consists of chair Lauri Ratia, vice chair Olli-Pekka Martikainen and members Lea Rahkola-Kauranen, Miisa Järvi, Päivi Arjas, Jaakko Ilves, Petri Saavalainen, Emil Viitala, Miikka Maunula and secretary Päivi Pousar.


Lauri Ratia, Chair Competition Committee
tel. +358 50 2922
Päivi Pousar, Secretary General of the Sibelius Violin
tel. +358 40 710 4217

Back to news